Getting Over Yourself

March 7, 2011

Going blank

Filed under: Observations — Barbara Rocha @ 12:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

On The Late Show the other night, Robin Williams cut Melissa Leo  a little slack for her choice of words at the Academy Awards. He said, “The moment they announce your name, English becomes a second language.”

Perhaps you know the feeling–it’s your turn to speak  and suddenly you’re not the rational person you usually are.

I’ve found that in every instance when I’m not concerned about how I look or what others think of me, my mind will continue to function normally. Knowing it’s not about me, keeps me in my right mind.

So, when they call your name the first thing to do is be grateful. Grateful for the recognition. Grateful for all those who contributed to your success. Grateful that you’re able to bring pleasure to someone else. If you can focus on something outside yourself, the larger idea, English will continue to be your first language and you’ll be pleased with the results.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

