Getting Over Yourself

March 10, 2011

Things you can learn from “The King’s Speech”

Filed under: Observations — Barbara Rocha @ 1:33 pm
Tags: , , ,

Because I’ve been teaching people to speak effectively for over 30 years and because my Master’s Degree studies focused on Winston Churchill’s speaking ability (overlapping with the film’s time frame, I really looked forward to seeing this film.

Of course, along with almost everyone else, I loved it. And there are lessons in it about speaking even if you’ll never be king and you don’t stammer.

In spite of the King’s resistance, Logue (his coach) figured out ways to accomplish what he knew he needed to do–distract him from the thought patterns that had gotten him into the problem in the first place. Logue had him sing, dance, and swear at various times as ways to break his negative focus.

If you are distracted by what has happened in the past when you speak, or what you imagine may happen, or what you will do if it does happen, you need to distract yourself from those destructive thoughts. For me, the big difference was when I found out no one cared about me. Didn’t matter what I’d done in the past or what I might do wrong or even whether or not they liked me. All that mattered was whether or not I could help them in some way with what I had to say.

You have the power to leave the destructive thoughts behind and just say it. The King had a much larger hurdle to get over than most of us ever will. You can use some of the things that helped him to move past your concerns and say what you want to say.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

