Getting Over Yourself

April 13, 2011

You can choose to be a happy speaker

Filed under: Tips — Barbara Rocha @ 10:26 am
Tags: , , ,

When my brother was in high school, Mom made him go to a party he didn’t want to go to. When he got home she asked him if he had a good time. His answer: “Of course I had a good time. If I’m going to go, I’m going to have a good time.”

As a teenage girl, I can tell you I wouldn’t have given that answer. It would have been important to have been miserable just so I could tell her so.

It was years before I saw how right he was.

Don’t bother trying to make a point about how much you don’t like speaking. If you’re going to do it, choose to have a good time. Focus on helping your audience. They’re more interested in whether they can use your information than if you like speaking.

The right choice can make you a happy speaker.

Articles and tips at http://www.GettingOverYourself.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

