Getting Over Yourself

March 29, 2013

Don’t make me answer your question

Filed under: Observations — Barbara Rocha @ 9:29 am
Tags: , ,

I was chatting with someone the other day who asked me a pretty simple question (“Have you ever watched television?”) which, from my perspective required not more than a pleasant expression and a nod to indicate I was tracking with the conversation. But, my questioner wouldn’t let it go until I actually said, “Yes, I’ve watched television.” It’s the kind of thing I don’t even think should be done to little kids–if you can see they are paying attention.

So, I’m back to my topic of not using questions indiscriminately to get people’s attention–either in a conversation, or in a speech. Demanding an answer to a more or less rhetorical connection breaks the flow of making your point and breaks your connection with the audience.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

