Getting Over Yourself

August 17, 2012

Simple words that bring down your businesslike reputation

When did we all become “you guys”? I began to notice in my workshops how often people were using “you guys” in a presentation. Then, I noticed it at business meetings. And now, I’m seeing experts in their field on television talking to “you guys.”

I’m sure I’ve said those words on occasion, but you really must consider whether that’s how you want people to see you. It’s quite informal and not at all how you want to be presenting yourself in your business or career.

Since part of the problem I see speakers having (that makes them less than effective) is that they don’t actually hear themselves and don’t know what they’re saying or what their bodies are doing.

Practice being aware of your word choices and your body movements when you’re not in front of an audience.

And, it’s really simple to get in the habit of saying “you” instead of “you guys.” It’s small thing but it does affect how your audience sees you.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.